It’s that time of year again, when all end of the year seasons and holidays collide. Here I am setting up Halloween and Fall merchandise displays while working on Christmas projects during what is generally recognized as Summer. It’s fun but sometimes confusing and disorienting. My frame of reference for when I should ask people what they are going to be for Halloween is waaaayyyy too early! I worry (panic!) that there’s not enough time to do my Christmas shopping, forgetting it’s still only August.

This feeling is only exacerbated by the fact that right now I am building a snowman. It was fitting that I was fixing the Fall accessories display right before starting the Halloween installation when I was asked to do this. I was handed a folder with all the details and specifications I needed to follow. My mission, should I choose to accept it, would be to create a tree topper for one of Roger’s Gardens World Famous Christmas Trees.

 Here’s what it looks like so far:

UPDATE:

My snowman tree topper was a great success. He was auctioned off to benefit the Pageant of the Masters but sat proudly at the top of the front tree in Rogers Gardens Gallery until the end of the season. I had a great time putting him together and he came out exactly as I envisioned which is always a happy ending.

He also inspired me to create a stained glass charm ornament based on his design.

